Copy resources when cloning or exporting content

If you have questions with some kind of embedded content (Pictures, video, attached mw-files, what not), that content should always be copied per default, when people do a clone or export of that question. Referencing to the original placement of that content is a really bad option, if the content is removed by the original author. Even more so, because as of now, you will have no idea where the source of the content is located.

  • Michael Clasen Jacobsen
  • Sep 10 2018
  • Future Consideration
  • Attach files
  • Chris B commented
    November 21, 2018 23:56

    This should be fixed for cloning from the cloud into your class, or exporting content to your computer. However cloning inside classes is not fixed - it doesn't make an additional copy of the content when the clone of the question is in this class already.

  • Michael Clasen Jacobsen commented
    09 Jan 14:13

    If you clone the question in the same class, it is fine that it references the content. But I do not believe that it will clone all content, if you clone a question from one class to another, which is the problem. It will in that scenario, reference the content. And, I do not believe, that you can easily see, where these "dependencies" (images etc.) are located on the server. And even if you find out in which class the content is located, you might not have access rights to that class. Correct me if I am wrong, this is based on memory.

  • Michael Clasen Jacobsen commented
    04 Sep 08:54

    Just for reference, this is from the TA guide (Do not know if this is stated in the newest version) And this is the exact behavior we do not want, it is horrible :):

     

    "When an instructor clones a question, the instructor becomes the full owner of the clone, and can be certain that it will not be edited by anyone else. However, there is a danger of losing resources (images, etc.) because the cloning process does not copy the resource files to the class web site; therefore, it is possible that the resources files may be deleted by the original author at any time."